Laurence Jobidon

Classical composer and organist, Laurence Jobidon comes from Quebec City, where she pursued musical studies at the Quebec Conservatory of Music in piano (under Suzanne Beaubien-Lowe), and then in organ (under Danny Belisle). It is also at this institution that she made her debut in composition, as Yannick Plamondon’s pupil, and that she won the Conservatory Teachers Award, given to the most promising graduate student. As an organist, she competed in various competitions and notably won first places in the Canadian Music Competition in 2007 and 2013 and was a finalist in the Claude-Lavoie Organ Competition in 2014. She performs regularly in various events across the province. Since 2014, Laurence Jobidon has returned to musical composing, this time as a pupil of the renowned Canadian composer Andrew MacDonald (1995 Juno Award winner for his “Violin Concerto”). She has written pieces for a variety of musical ensembles, notably chamber music, solo instruments, vocal music and orchestra. She won the New Generation Orchestra composition competition in 2015 with her piece "The White Owl and the Wolf" and collaborates regularly with quebecois musicians and ensembles interested in contemporary music.

There are no productions for this artist in the Season Schedule of Performances which currently only dates back to 1991.

Artist Information

All information is derived from OPERA America's Season Schedule of Performances and titles databases which date back to 1991. OPERA America is constantly updating this data. If you feel that a work or an artist has been omitted or that information is incorrect, please use the linked forms below.
Title Information Form
Artist Information Form

actor id: 0
ind id: 0
memb level: 0
expiration date: 12:00:00 AM
current url: /Applications/NAWD/people.aspx
Login As
* Visible only to OPERA America Administrators for testing purposes. Shows security cookie contents.
National Opera Center
330 Seventh Avenue, New York, NY 10001
212.796.8620   •   Info@operamerica.com

Terms of Service   •   Privacy Policy   •   Copyright Policy   © Copyright 1995–2021 OPERA America Inc.