musical OPERA America Members Portal

Alice Ryley
Composer:Michael Ching
Librettist:Michael Ching
Framed by tour guides visiting Wright Square in contemporary Savannah, ALICE RYLEY goes back to the founding of the city the 1730s and a ghost story that persists to this day. Alice, a newly arrived Irish indentured servant, survives a terrible Atlantic crossing only to be expelled from her first post for praying in Gaelic. Moved to the colony's cattle farm she meets and falls in love with a fellow Irish indenture, Richard White. They serve a cruel master and White murders him. They are caught and condemned to hang. Alice's jailor Mary is also a midwife and sees that Alice is pregnant. She is allowed to have her baby. Alice has a letter written to Governor James Oglethorpe for clemency but the letter is burned by the notary. Later, she sings an Irish lullaby to her newborn and Mary offers to take care of him if Alice put to death. Unfortunately there is no pardon and Alice is hung. Sitting on a bench in Wright square, the tour guide looks up from his book of Savannah ghost stories and sees Alice looking for her baby.

Title Information

All information is derived from OPERA America's Season Schedule of Performances and titles databases which date back to 1991. OPERA America is constantly updating this data. If you feel that a work or an artist has been omitted or that information is incorrect, please use the linked forms below.
Title Information Form
Artist Information Form

Approximate Runtime (hh:mm)

Number of Acts

Musical Style
arias and ensembles

Vocal & Musical Forces
S/A/A/T/B/Narrator, optional chorus, 8 piece and 3 piece orchestrations available

actor id: 0
ind id: 0
memb level: 0
expiration date: 12:00:00 AM
current url: /Applications/NAWD/titles.aspx
Login As
* Visible only to OPERA America Administrators for testing purposes. Shows security cookie contents.
National Opera Center
330 Seventh Avenue, New York, NY 10001
212.796.8620   •

Terms of Service   •   Privacy Policy   •   Copyright Policy   © Copyright 1995–2022 OPERA America Inc.