musical OPERA America Members Portal

River of Women/Rio de Mujeres
Composer:Hector Armienta
Librettist:Hector Armienta
An Hispanic opera that is Part II of the Aguas Ancestrales Trilogy, “River of Women/Rio de Mujeres” takes place in San Antonio, Texas during the 1940's. The plot centers around one woman's dream to escape the rural life of the river in order to seek a better life for herself and her only child, but is thwarted by both her family (her mother) and an oppressive culture. Having disgraced the family by having had an illegitimate child, she is expected to marry a man she does not love in order to bring honor to her name. In the end, the spirit of the river and La Llorona, claim both her dreams and the life of her only daughter. La Llorona/ The Weeping Woman is a mythic character from Mexico, who is in search of the children she lost to the river.
courtesy of Hector Armienta

Title Information

All information is derived from OPERA America's Season Schedule of Performances and titles databases which date back to 1991. OPERA America is constantly updating this data. If you feel that a work or an artist has been omitted or that information is incorrect, please use the linked forms below.
Title Information Form
Artist Information Form

Approximate Runtime (hh:mm)

Number of Acts

Musical Style
Chamber opera; lyrical contemporary, incorporating Mexican musical idioms

Vocal & Musical Forces
Singers: 2 sopranos, mezzo-soprano, tenor, low baritone. Orchestra: 16

actor id: 0
ind id: 0
memb level: 0
expiration date: 12:00:00 AM
current url: /Applications/NAWD/titles.aspx
Login As
* Visible only to OPERA America Administrators for testing purposes. Shows security cookie contents.
National Opera Center
330 Seventh Avenue, New York, NY 10001
212.796.8620   •

Terms of Service   •   Privacy Policy   •   Copyright Policy   © Copyright 1995–2022 OPERA America Inc.