September 28, 2003 | New York City Opera
All Quiet on the Western Front
Composer:Nancy Van de Vate
Librettist:Nancy Van de Vate
All Quiet on the Western Front is perhaps the greatest war novel ever written. It has been filmed three times but never before set to music. It is the story of seven German schoolboys sent to the front in World War I; they are representative of an entire generation destroyed by the war. The story is related by one of the seven, Paul Baumer. Of particular importance are the relationships between the soldiers, their closeness, and mutual dependency. Their life in the trenches is starkly depicted and vividly contrasted with the complacency of the relatives they visit on leave. After surviving many battles at the front, Paul is killed one month before the Armistice. He fell "on a day that was so quiet and still on the whole front that the Army report confined itself to the single sentence: All quiet on the Western Front."

Title Information

All information is derived from OPERA America's Season Schedule of Performances and titles databases which date back to 1991. OPERA America is constantly updating this data. If you feel that a work or an artist has been omitted or that information is incorrect, please use the linked forms below.
Title Information Form
Artist Information Form

Approximate Runtime (hh:mm)

Number of Acts

Musical Style
20th-century; lyrical

Vocal & Musical Forces
principal roles for 2 Tenors, Bass-baritone, Baritone; secondary roles for 3 Sopranos, Mezzo-soprano, Contralto, 2 Tenors, and 3 Baritones; some silent roles. Orchestra

Original Cast
Paul Mow (Paul Baumer)
Burt K. Johnson (Kaczynski)
Scott Ogsed (the Orderly)

actor id: 0
ind id: 0
memb level: 0
expiration date: 12:00:00 AM
current url: /Applications/NAWD/titles.aspx
Login As
* Visible only to OPERA America Administrators for testing purposes. Shows security cookie contents.
National Opera Center
330 Seventh Avenue, New York, NY 10001
212.796.8620   •   Info@operamerica.com

Terms of Service   •   Privacy Policy   •   Copyright Policy   © Copyright 1995–2021 OPERA America Inc.