July 24, 1999 | Glimmerglass Festival
Central Park (Three One-Act Operas)
Composer:Robert Beaser
Deborah Drattell
Michael Torke
Librettist:A.R. GurneyTerrence McNallyWendy Wasserstein
Central Park is an evening of three one-act operas created by some of America's most gifted composers and accomplished playwrights: The Festival of Regrets by Deborah Drattell and Wendy Wasserstein, Strawberry Fields by Michael Torke and A.R. Gurney, and The Food of Love by Robert Beaser and Terrence McNally. The operas are linked by the setting of Central Park as a meeting place of people from all over the world and from all walks of life. Each piece, in its own way, explores the comedy, poignancy, and tragedy of contemporary urban life.

Title Information

All information is derived from OPERA America's Season Schedule of Performances and titles databases which date back to 1991. OPERA America is constantly updating this data. If you feel that a work or an artist has been omitted or that information is incorrect, please use the linked forms below.
Title Information Form
Artist Information Form

Approximate Runtime (hh:mm)

Number of Acts

Original Cast
The Festival of Regrets: Lauren Flanigan (Greta)
Strawberry Fields: Joyce Castle (The Old Lady)
The Food of Love: Lauren Flanigan (Woman)
Other cast members: John Hancock, Jeffrey Lentz, Jennifer Anne Cooper, Margaret Lloyd, Joshua Winograde, Troy Cook, Barbara LeMay, Matthew DiBattista

actor id: 0
ind id: 0
memb level: 0
expiration date: 12:00:00 AM
current url: /Applications/NAWD/titles.aspx
Login As
* Visible only to OPERA America Administrators for testing purposes. Shows security cookie contents.
National Opera Center
330 Seventh Avenue, New York, NY 10001
212.796.8620   •   Info@operamerica.com

Terms of Service   •   Privacy Policy   •   Copyright Policy   © Copyright 1995–2023 OPERA America Inc.