July 23, 2004
Guest from the Future
Composer:Mel Marvin
Librettist:Jonathan Levi
"Guest from the Future" is a chamber opera based on the story of the legendary Russian poet, Anna Akhmatova's, overnight meeting with the British philosopher and diplomat, Isaiah Berlin, in Leningrad in November 1945. The key question—why Akhmatova survived the persecution that imprisoned and claimed the lives of so many of the Russian intelligentsia—is the political foil to the personal story of the strange encounter between the 35-year-old philosopher and the 55-year-old poet.

Title Information

All information is derived from OPERA America's Season Schedule of Performances and titles databases which date back to 1991. OPERA America is constantly updating this data. If you feel that a work or an artist has been omitted or that information is incorrect, please use the linked forms below.
Title Information Form
Artist Information Form

Approximate Runtime (hh:mm)

Vocal & Musical Forces
12 vocalists, 12 orchestral musicians, 1 onstage musician

Original Cast
Lillian Sengpiehl as Young Anna Akhmatova, Jonathan Hays as Isaiah Berlin, Brian Jauhiainen as Vladimir Orlov, Tracy Wise as Mikhail Zoschenko, Daniel Okulitch as Nikolai Gumilyov, Kathryn Friest as Olga Sudhekina, Christopher O’Connor as Vsevolod Knyazev, Scott Hogsed as Andrei Zhdanov, Michaela Martens sd Anna Akhmatova, Vale Rideout as Amadeo Modigliani, Gloria Parker as Virginia Woolf, Vale Rideout as Osip Mandelstam, Daniel Okulitch as Lev Gumilyov, Tracy Wise as Nikolai Punin, Gloria Parker as Anna Arens, Kathryn Friest as Irina Arens, Jan Opalach as Josef Stalin, Christopher O’Connor as Randolph Churchill

actor id: 0
ind id: 0
memb level: 0
expiration date: 12:00:00 AM
current url: /Applications/NAWD/titles.aspx
Login As
* Visible only to OPERA America Administrators for testing purposes. Shows security cookie contents.
National Opera Center
330 Seventh Avenue, New York, NY 10001
212.796.8620   •   Info@operamerica.com

Terms of Service   •   Privacy Policy   •   Copyright Policy   © Copyright 1995–2021 OPERA America Inc.